About KUST Wudil

Kano state is one of the densely populated state in the federation with a teeming and sporadic urban growth is undoubtedly one of the homogeneous cities in Nigeria in particular and other parts of the world in general.

Consequently upon this, and the in recognition of the desire for education acquisition and the high number of the Kano state indigences unable to obtain or sustain admission into existing state and federal universities in Nigeria. In the recognition of social,economic and traditional peculiarities of Kano state and the need to integrate these into functional and result oriented education system .And in recognition of the need to maximize the exploitation of the immense economic and human resources that the state through relevant education pursuit; There had been for long time a latent desire by the indigenes to have a state own university.

In pursuance of the above aspiration, the then Kano state government set up a Task Force on the creation of Kano state university in march 1988. The committee was under the chairman of professor Ibrahim H. Umar the east while Vice Chancellor of Bayero University Kano. A year later in February 1989, the committee submitted a report recommending the establishment of Kano state University at Bagauda Lake Hotel.

In January 2000, a committee on the revival of the University Project was set up by the state Executive Council with his Excellence Dr Abdullahi Umar Ganduje, the Deputy Governor of the state as Chairman.The council in which it recommended among others the immediate reactivation of the project and the University be sited at the former premises of Wudil Teachers College. These recommendations were approved by the Executive Council. Subsequently his excellency the executive governor Engr Dr Musa Kwankwaso appointed an implementation committee which was chaired by Engr Dr. umar Garba Dambatta former Dean of the faculty of technology Bayero University Kano. This committee was inaugurated on 15th February 2000 and was charged with realizing the aims and objectives of establishing Kano university of technology.

A subcommittee of the main committee has earlier on developed an academic brief containing the programmes in the year 2001 with two additional faculties apart from the earlier two faculties of science and agriculture were established which include faculty of Environmental Sciences with two department, ,Architecture and Geography and Faculty of Engineering. With the establishment of these new faculties, the University has a total of four faculties.

In its inception,the state government appointed the chairman of the earlier committee to serve as the Ag Vice Chancellor subsequent to which a substantive Vice Chancellor in person of Professor Sauuka Abdul Hady Abouel Seoud (an Egyptian) Mechanical Engineer was appointed in the 2002 . He was appointed for two (2) years contract which lapsed in 2004 when the Deputy chancellor (Dr Umar Garba Dambatta ) acted as the Vice Chancellor. Towards the end of 2004, the state Government appointed Professor Ibrahim Shehu Disco (a France trained Mechanical Engineer and a lecturer at Faculty of Technology, Bayero University, Kano) as Ag. Vice Chancellor.

Similarly a governing council headed by Arc. Musa Tanko Wazire was also appointed.

The university which was known as Kano State University of Science and Technology Wudil has been renamed as Kano University of Science and Technology, Wudil in the year 2005 in conformity to the Gazette laws of the University .

In January 2009 the Kano State government appointed the current acting vice chancellor in person of Dr. Ibrahim I Abdu to serve as Acting Vice Chancellor of the university.