The central Library is currently organised into four (4) departments and three (3) units. Each department and unit is headed by a professional librarian. The head of each department reports directly to the university librarian who also reports directly to the Vice Chancellor. However, there is a senate Library Management committee that advices and assist the University Librarian in the management of the University library.

The following are the various sections of the library:

1.      Reader Services Department

The Reader Services Department is responsible for the coordination of all activities and services that will enable users have direct access to information resources and services of the library. It consists of the Circulation Unit, Reference unit and Faculty/Departmental Libraries units:

Circulation unit:  Located on the first floor of the library, the circulation unit is responsible for registering new users of the library, charging and discharging of borrowed books, as well as keeping wary eye on reading areas, among other functions.   I t also houses the largest number of the book collections in the library. You can also borrow books from this section. The circulation desk, where you get the clearance to borrow books is located on the ground floor, just after the main entrance.

The circulation room also houses the Reserve collection that consists of selected materials in closed access in which users have to seek for permission to use them.  Users are allowed to use them within the library for two hours. Materials kept in this section include materials that are on high demand but in limited copies; rare materials that are out of print but in high demand; materials asked to be placed on reserve by course tutors etc

Reference Section: Also located on the first floor and close to the main stack area, the reference section is the smaller room adjacent to the circulation section. It houses the reference materials designed for consultation purposes only, rather than continuous reading. Such materials are used only within the library and cannot be given out on loan. Reference materials have the inscription: “REFERENCE ONLY! NOT TO BE TAKEN OUT OF THE LIBRARY”. Examples of reference materials in the room include: Encyclopaedia, Dictionaries, Directories, Almanac, Handbooks, Abstracts and Indexes, Biographies, Atlases etc.

The reference section is also responsible for answering user’s questions and also provides assistance to users in the use of the library and other information resources.

Faculty and Departmental Libraries

The reader services department is also responsible for maintenance of the following faculty libraries :

i)Faculty of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology, Library

ii) Faculty of Computing and Mathematical Sciences, Library

iii) Faculty of Engineering, Library

iv) Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences, Library

v) Faculty of Science, Library.

vi) Faculty of Science and Technology Education, Library

The library also supports the following departmental Libraries:  Department of Architecture; Mathematical Sciences; Department of Geography; Department of Biology; Microbiology; Biochemistry and Physics department.

2.      Technical Services Department: It is located in the staff wing of the university Library and it is responsible for the selection, acquisition and processing of new materials through the proper cataloguing and classification of library resources. Students have restricted access to this section because it is the workroom of the university library. The Technical Services Department consist of two units namely, the information Resources Development Unit and the cataloguing and classification unit.

The Cataloguing & Classification Unit: is responsible for Processing and organizing all materials acquired by the library for utilization by library users; the creation and maintenance of the library’s card catalogue and online public access catalogue (OPAC).

 The Information Resources Development Unit: is generally responsible for building up the library collections and maintains its quality and strength. In particular the unit is responsible for:

a.       Selection of relevant books/journals in liaison with faculty members for the library.

b.      Preparing order of recommended books/journals.

c.       Receiving and verifying all books/journals on receipt.

d.      Maintaining records of all transactions as regards to purchases of books/journals.

e.       Review of all library books/journals with a view to maintain effective library collections in collaboration with reader services unit. 

3.      Serials and Postgraduate Department;

The serials unit this is located on the ground floor, adjacent to the administrative office of the University library. It responsible for acquiring, processing and maintenance of the serial collection such as journals, Newspapers, Magazines as well as other documents including student’s projects/ thesis, government publications, etc. It also maintains catalogue and records of all serials and documents acquired by the library. It is also responsible for the binding and reprographic services of the library as well as the post graduate section of the library.

The Post Graduate Section: is located on the first floor of the building. It is intended to be a quiet and secured area for reading and research by Postgraduate students.

4.      Automation/E-Library Department; It is located on the ground floor of the library building. It houses 250 computers and it is responsible for the planning and development of automated library services as well as the management of e- library services.

There is also the E –Library annex which is a facility provided by the Universal Service Provision Fund (USPF). It is located in the former university library building situated at the administrative block of the university. It has fifty (50) computers, connected to the internet.

The e-library stores and provides access to both online and off line resources to its users electronically. Some of the e -resources are acquired and or subscribed to while others are accessed freely through open access.


 Daily Trust | Leadership  | The Nation | Time Magazine | Gamji | Kano State Scholarship Board | kano Online | Amana Online

Copyright (c) 2016 Kano University of Science and Technology, Wudil, Kano - Nigeria. All Rights Reserved.