About Us

Kano University of Science and Technology, Wudil started academic activities in April, 2001 with 88 students. The University first Visitor the former governor His Excellency Engr. DR. Rabi'u Musa Kwankwaso established the University implementation committee in January, 2000 under the leadership of Engr. Dr. (now Professor) Umar Garba Danbatta. The University started with 2 Faculties: Faculty of Science and Science Education and Faculty of Agricutural . The first Chancellor of the University is his royal highness Alh. ...... and in 2006 the Second Visitor of the University His Excellency DR. Malam Ibrahim Shekarau appointed Alh. Aliko Dangote GCON as the second University Chancellor. The first University council was established in the year ... under the leadership of Arch. M. T. Waziri (late), while the second Council was inagurated in 20... under the leadership of Alh. Magaji Dambatta (late). The current University Pro Chancellor is Barrister A. B. Mahmoud (SAN), the President of Nigeria Bar Association.

The University name was changed in 20... from Kano University of Technology, Wudil (KUT, Wudil) to its present name Kano University of Science and Technology, Wudil (KUST, Wudil). There are currently 6 faculties in the University that include: Faculty of Agricultural Technology (FAAAT), Faculty of Computing and Mathematical Sciences (FACMS), Faculty of Environmental Sciences (FAEES), Faculty of Engineering (FAENG), Faculty of Sciences (FASCE) and Faculty of Sciences and Technical Education (FASTE)

Our Achievements


The University law was signed into law by the Visitor His Excellency Dr. Abdullahi Umar Ganduje the executive governor of Kano state after it was passed into law. The 2016 TetFUND intervention was accessed. The University sponsored about 30 staff to pursue their Ph D at both local and international level via TetFUND intervention and Kano state sponsorship. The 5th Convocation was celebrated in style. New programmes were earmarked for the 2017/2018 session.


The University programmes was accredited by The Nigerian Universities Commission (NUC) with 21 programmes securing full accreditation and 2 programmes secured interim accredidation. The University successfully started the Remedials and IJMB programmes with more than 1,000 students. 2016/2017 session begins with admission of 5,000 new students. The University employed more than 300 academic staff at various levels.


High impact interventions were sourced for the construction of 2 faculties: Faculty of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology and Faculty of Earth and Environmental Sciences; gymnasium and indoor games facilities, furnishing of various laboratories with equipments.


The 4th convocation took place and was graced by many dignitaries all around the globe. The University successfully secured the NEEDS assessment fund and special intervention grants from various funding organisations

Principal Officers

The University principal officers are: The Vice Chancellor, DVC Administration, DVC Academics, Registrar, Bursar and Librarian.